The 4 Main Types of Substations

HomeBlogThe 4 Main Types of Substations

Substations connect the distances between an electrical distribution system and the location of the electrical transmission. When electricity has to travel a long distance, it is elevated to a higher voltage to minimize the amount of energy loss along its journey. When the electricity must exit its path, it will run through a substation where the voltage is reduced for distribution. On the other end, the voltage might be elevated after going through a substation if traveling in the other direction.

The 4 Main Types of Substations

There are four different types of substations that serve electrical distribution systems. These include:

  1. Transmission substations—These substations establish a connection between two or more transmission lines.
  2. Distribution substations—These substations establish a transfer line between the distribution source and transmission location and typically involve either stepping the voltage up or down.
  3. Converter substations—Convertor substations convert the frequency of the currents traveling through the electrical system.
  4. Collector substations—These substations work in conjunction with renewable energy sources by collecting energy, stepping up voltage, and sending electricity to transmission lines.

We can manufacture many types of substations with excellence at Electric Power Systems. We want to hear about your project and what it entails. Reach out to us to tell us what you have in mind and to receive an estimate for the process. Contact us today to get this process started.